Sweet Place of Breakthrough

In January 2008, a friend suggested to do a “biggest loser” competition among a group of friends, in which we all put in $25, and winner takes all! To make it fair, it was calculated by percentage lost instead of pounds lost. At that point in my life, I had a 19 month old daughter, and her high energy levels were taking a lot out of me! I knew that I needed to lose the weight, and since we were tight on cash, that monetary incentive was enough to get me to start. I joined sparkpeople.com to help me track my food/calories and my exercise, and I joined a local womens fitness place similar to Curves, and my motivation just kept up!

I started at 270, and by Feb. 25th I had lost 20 pounds and was feeling GREAT! And, it had seemed that several friends in the competition had lost their motivation and weren’t doing as well (we had weekly weigh-ins), and it dawned on me that I could win this thing! And you know what….I did! I remember having a conversation with a coworker who is also a great friend of mine (she was not in the competition), and she was amazed at my determination. I wasn’t sure where it came from, but I sure was motivated. I had hit that sweet place of breakthrough….that motivation kept me going, and kept me going strong. By the summertime, I was down to 220. I was feeling great. I remember being able to fit into size 18 jeans again. What an amazing feeling.

By the time September came around, my schedule really picked up, and I was having a hard time fitting the Fitness center into my schedule. And, during the summer, I relaxed a little bit on my eating habits as a “reward” for doing so well.  Well, as you might have guessed, the pounds started to come back on. In April of 2009, I found out that I was pregnant with my son, and my starting weight at that initial OB appt? 270. Back to where I started. Depression sank in. I could not believe that I was right back to where I started. Well, the emotional eating combined with the pregnancy, even more pounds came on.

I was so sad that I failed. I couldn’t understand how I had such a great breakthrough, yet still failed. But I am starting to understand it all now. I tried to do it alone. I didn’t ask for God’s help.

That’s why I really think its going to be different this time. I want to crave God instead of craving food. Whenever the cravings come, I either start to pray or turn to Scripture. I can’t say that I’ve come to that sweet place of breakthrough again this time, but I’ll get there. I know I will. God is on my side.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sweet Place of Breakthrough

  1. kymmie says:

    Thank you for sharing! Did you do the last Bible study? We learned to “fail forward”. You’ve got this! You have God and more than 43,000 people behind you this time. 🙂

  2. Cassie thank you for sharing your journey – many of us can relate. I too am hoping this breakthrough for me lasts this time. I think it will. Debbie W. (OBS Team Leader/Facebook Group Leader/Blog Hop Team)

  3. Cindy says:

    You’ll get there! I can relate. . .keep going!

    Cindy
    http://www.welltrainedmama.com

Leave a Reply

