You. Are. More.

Almost two years ago, I attended a retreat for teens and young adults, because it was part of my job. I had no idea walking into that retreat what I was going to get out of it. The theme on the posters: “You. Are. More.” It was all about breaking free from the labels that the world gives us. Ugly. Nerdy. Weird. Loner. FAT. God sees us as so much more than that!  Enter in the awesome song by the same name, by Tenth Avenue North:

Let me just say, that retreat and the accompanying song has stuck with me. To this day, when the song comes on the radio, I get a little teary-eyed.

Fast forward to today. I just read Made to Crave chapter 5: “Made for More.” Guess what that reminded me of? Yep. Brought me right back to Youth Councils 2012. Lysa Terkeurst writes, “We were made for more than this. More than this failure, more than this cycle, more than being ruled by taste buds.”

YES. God does not want us to struggle with food! Nor do I! I hate it. But it is one of my greatest weaknesses, and the devil who prowls around like a lion, just watches me and tempts me at my lowest moments when my resolve is fragile. I want to crave God more than I crave food. I want to be able to take that food craving that satan throws my way, and spit back scripture the way that Jesus did in the desert instead of caving into that chocolate my taste buds so desire.

You. Are. More. Even though I broke down some barriers two years ago at that youth councils, I still struggle with identifying myself by my circumstances:
Cassie, the girl who is “morbidly obese”
Cassie, the girl who has been fat for as long as she can remember
Cassie, the girl who runs to food when she is sad, angry, tired, etc.
Cassie, the girl who is too lazy to exercise (and makes excuses about how busy she is)
Cassie, the girl who screws up, again and again and again….

It is time, once and for all, that I identify myself as a child of God:
Cassie, the forgiven child of God (Romans 3:24)
Cassie, the accepted child of God (1 Corinthians 1:2)
Cassie, the made-new child of God (2 Corinthians 5:17)
Cassie, the loved child of God (Ephesians 1:4)
Cassie, the confident child of God (Ephesians 3:12)
Cassie, the victorious child of God (Romans 8:37)

God created me for more. And He created you for more too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

