I declare: I am weak. I need help. You struggle with food too? Join me.

My favorite moment of this Made to Crave online Bible Study so far, was the past hour I spent on facebook. They created a facebook event, and posted questions & activities for us to do in an hours time. Great questions, and its so good to read the responses of others. It helps make this study feel real, like I am in a room full of women.

Here is the part that struck me the most though. Author Lysa Terkeurst writes, “If I admit my struggle with food to my friends, they might try to hold me accountable the next time we go out.” The M2C study posed the question, what is your biggest fear about sharing your struggle with others? My mind quickly came up with the answer, I don’t want people to judge me because I struggle with food.

Then, I read others’ answers:
It’s embarrassing
I’ll be judged by others
That I’ll fail again, and everyone will know
That they don’t have the same struggle and won’t understand
That they’ll think I have no self-control or disciple
They’ll judge me every time I slip up
They’ll see my weaknesses

As I read these SAME answers over and over and over again by different women, my brain just went STOP! Look at all these women, saying the same things….we’re all afraid of the same things here. Let me say that again with different emphasis. WE are ALL afraid of the same things. I did not just list one person’s fears. That question currently has 758 answers to it on that facebook event. On the M2C online blog, they have stated that over 42,000 women have joined this study. Clearly, if there are that many of us joining an online bible study, we are struggling with the same things! Why struggle alone when we could be doing this side by side!

Then my brain did another STOP! Since I have come to this revelation, why haven’t I shared this struggle with others? Okay, you got me. Why should I be afraid? Surely there are other women out there who struggle with food too, right? RIGHT?!?!?!?

I am not going to walk this path alone anymore. I’m going to share it. Hopefully that means I’ll have more readers of this blog. And I suppose I’ll have to change the photo in the header of this generic blog. I’m not walking this alone anymore.

““My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me.” 2 Corinthians 12:9 NLT

Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

