Permissible, but not beneficial

“Some of you say, “We can do whatever we want to!”
But I tell you that not everything may be good or helpful.”
1 Corinthians 10:23, CEV

Just because we CAN do something, does not mean its a good idea. Seriously. I should have learned this lesson in life already.

In Chapter 1 of Made to Crave, author Lysa Terkeurst brings up the very good point brought to our attention by 1 Corinthians 10:23, just because something is permissible, does not make it beneficial! Just because I CAN eat an entire pint of that java chip ice cream, does not make it good for my body. Just because I CAN sit at home in bed all day and get no exercise whatsoever, does not make it good for my body. Just because I CAN ignore my Bible and go on facebook instead, does not make it good for my soul.

Praying that every time I try to do something just because I CAN, that this token from God’s Word will come to mind.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Permissible, but not beneficial

  1. Stacey Mendro (Proverbs 31 OBS Team Member) says:

    What a beautiful testimony of how God’s Word can set our minds on things above. Thank you for sharing what we CAN do but may not be the best thing for us in the long run. God’s Word is alive and active….Praise Him!!!!

Leave a Reply

