Warning. Lots of Quotation Marks.

I bought the book “Lose it for Life” by Stephen Arterburn & Dr. Linda Mintle. I only just started reading it this week, and I’m only 1.5 chapters in, but there have already been quite a few things that have hit me like a ton of bricks. In the first chapter, the book explains there are 7 steps to lose it for life: Surrender, Acceptance, Confession, Responsibility, Forgiveness, Transformation, and Preservation.

This first step, Surrender, its a doozy. 1 Peter 5:6 says, “So humble yourselves under the mighty power of God, and in his good time he will honor you.”  The book says, “You must be willing to discover what is driving the hunger and want healing more than you want food. You are unable to accomplish your goals without relinquishing control and surrendering to His way of doing things.”  That was my first brick in the face. The “relinquish control” part…easier said than done. We pretend to be in control, especially when it comes to losing weight. We pretend by lying to ourselves. We tell ourselves things like, “All I have to do is just stop eating so much” and “All I have to do is quit being so lazy and exercise more.” Okay yes, those may be PART of it – but its a lie if I tell myself that’s all I need to do.  So then, we fail, we no longer believe the lie that we can do whatever we set our minds to, and then we believe that we can’t do anything; all is hopeless.  [Mind you, I’m reading this book,  thinking, “its like they KNOW me.”]

The waterworks turned on when I got to this part: “Surrender allows you to grow as you submit to God’s authority. In order to submit, you must trust that God has good things for you and that His plans and purposes far outweigh what you bring to the table.” [Insert Brick #2] Haven’t I learned this lesson already? Hasn’t God shown me over & over & over again that He’s on my side? He has great things in store for me, and its not because I did it on my own. I KNOW that. So WHY the heck can’t I apply it to ALL areas of my life?!?!?!?

Brick #3: “Overeating serves a purpose. This purpose may not be healthy, desired, or even in your awareness, but it is there. … Most people do experience anxiety when they stop using food to cope with stress because they have to learn new ways to cope. Change, even when desired and positive, can be stressful.” Ugh. I just said yesterday that I wasn’t ready to face my demons yet. But clearly, this book is going to make me do that. In order to lose weight, and keep it off, things are gonna change.  And we’re talking serious stuff here; more than just my pants size is going to change. I’m saying goodbye to:

  1. A comfortable habit and way of life.
  2. A friend – I can always depend on food being there and making me feel good for the moment.
  3. My best form of distraction.
  4. A tried-and-true way to deal with boredom.
  5. A major coping mechanism for life’s stresses.
  6. My best numbing device used for emotional pain.
  7. A way to satisfy needs [even though the food doesn’t really satisfy that need, I eat as if it does]
  8. A cover up for fears, including failures [here’s a toughie. It’s SO  easy to say, “X happened, because I’m fat]
  9. And I’m sure there’s other things I’m not admitting just yet.

WOW. That’s a lot of things to say goodbye to. A lot of change. If I’m going to do this, I’m going to go through the ringer.

Hmm. My brain just took me in a different direction. Some people know that I have a tattoo of a butterfly. Tattoos are not something that should be taken lightly; if you’re going to put permanent ink on your body, you better be sure its something important! Well, to me, butterflies are important. It has some historical significance – one of my favorite memories as a child, was going to the forest preserves with my dad and sister and we would try to catch butterflies in the fields. But it also represents my Christianity. If I ever get inked again, I am going to add to that tattoo, “2 Corinthians 5:17” which states, “Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!” A butterfly goes through quite the transformation – he becomes a completely different creature – a NEW creation.  So, I’m going to be a beautiful butterfly.  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Warning. Lots of Quotation Marks.

  1. Jennifer says:

    Hey Cassie!!

    I have that same book….I have never read it though… But I definitely will start reading it. It’s great that you have this blog to write your feelings and what’s going on. You’ve inspired me to update my blog. If you don’t mind I would totally love to be your cheerleader on this journey. I’ve also battled with my weight for many…many years and I believe that it is the main reason that I haven’t been able to have kids. But I also have to lose this weight for my health…I hate the fact that I’m 36yrs old and am on medication for hypertension and a beta blocker. My goal has become to get off those meds….the last few weeks have been a little rough…I’ll lose…then gain 2lbs and then lose and this last week I gained 2lbs again….I know it won’t come off all at once…but God sure is teaching my patience with all this. 🙂 I will keep you in my prayers!!! You can totally do it!!! 🙂 HUGS!!

    • cassiekh says:

      Jen, you definitely need to read it! The book is so true in that, we can never truly “lose it for life” if we don’t deal with the issues that made us overweight to begin with. UGH…its a painful process, but necessary. Good luck & God Bless!

  2. Becki says:

    You are such a beautiful butterfly already!! ❤

    I'll be thinking of you and pulling for you to achieve your goals! Call me if you're bored 😉

  3. Angie says:

    You can do it, Cassie! If you can bring up those two little babies of yours, you can do anything! 🙂

  4. mom says:

    i pray this book helps you release your demons. we all have them. you have had a difficult life. but God has blessed you with a loving husband and two healthy children. when one observes the world we live in and the trials and tribulations we each face, one must give thanks for the good and learn enough from the bad to make the changes God has planned for us.

Leave a Reply

